top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

Visiting Taman Satwa Kandi (ZOO), seeing an elephant for the FIRST time

Updated: Aug 10, 2022

As an escape from the COVID-19 pandemic, education life and stress I went through in Padang, I decided to go out of Padang itself. Fortunately, I know a friend of mine who lives in Sijunjung Regency (Kabupaten Sijunjung) in West Sumatra, who always told me to visit his place and village. So to fresh up my mind, I sat on a motorcycle for approximately 2 1/2 hours from Padang to Sijunjung.


The next day, my friend brought me to the Zoo, Taman Satwa Kandi. It was a very nice sight but sad to see what the pandemic has done to the park. From lonely animals in cages to even complete empty cages. No rides, no fun, less visitors around. To my surprise and as I always have hoped, it was my first time seeing not only one but more than one elephant. Sadly they were chained up. What was mesmerizing to see was the green water lake. Seeing elephants for the first time, surely made one of the must not forgotten memories in Indonesia.


I hereby thank my friend for guiding me around. For more updates you may follow me on: Instagram: @rainkario https://www.instagram.com/rainkario Facebookpage: Rain-Karioredjo Rainer, https://www.facebook.com/rainauthorwr...


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page