top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

This is Sumbar

Within my major Communication Studies, there are 4 different concentrations to choose from; (1) Journalism, (2) Movie, Television and Film, (3) Public Relations, and (4) Communication Management. Communication Studies prepares students for professions in a multitude of fields including work in television, the study of human interaction, persuasion, and more. These majors graduate with critical thinking and an acute understanding of electronic media and interpersonal interaction. Therefore, my department has its own studio known as LAB TV and Film for students to practice in broadcasting or how to maintain media equipment; and new… Animation studio and Radio Studio.

Within my department, there is also a small community/ organization for students to join no matter which concentration they are part of or want to take, to practice in filming, recording or broadcasting.


During my studies, some lecturers and students already knew the passion I have for media, therefore, in 2021 during my 4th semester, I was personally contacted and asked if I wanted to be part of the LAB TV and FILM. I had to rethink, should I or should I not? But then I decided to join and see how it goes.


As I got into the group, we started working on different projects whereas I shared my ideas. My idea was to create something fun and touristic to invite anyone national and international to visit West Sumatra. That is how me and the leader of my group came up with the title “This is Sumbar”. “Sumbar” stands for Sumatra Barat (West Sumatra). The first project we got to work on was about Coffeeshop since anywhere in West Sumatra, you will find a coffeeshop, whether small or big.

This project was then filmed and launched on Jul 19, 2021. The next project we then worked on was about Rendang Padang; a very traditional Indonesian dish originated from West Sumatra. After these two projects were uploaded onto YouTube, I then stopped continued working on other projects. But my junior from the batch year 2021, took over my position.


Here is the first video and debut of “This is Sumbar”.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page