top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

Surviving during the COVID-19 Pandemic as an International Student in Indonesia

My name is Rainër Karioredjo, I am known as Rain and I come from Suriname, South America. I am on a scholarship and am currently studying at Andalas University in Padang, West Sumatra, Indonesia. This is my Survival as an Internation student during the COVID-19 pandemic.


During my studies here, an outbreak took place in Wuhan, China which is known as the Coronavirus, COVID-19. It is a decease that can be spread real quick and it’s now around the globe, even in Indonesia. Because of this pandemic, schools are closed, shops are closed, even the streets are a lot calmer than ever imagined.



People have been wondering what I do or how I survive. I have online classes that can be complicated to understand and online assignments. At first, it felt awkward and not effective, but slowly I got used to it. Most of the time I don’t understand much of what’s happening in the group chats and I don’t want to be burdensome to others although students are willing to assist me somehow. Furthermore, I do yoga in the afternoon, sometimes I play tennis when I have someone to play with, I take naps and in the evening I watch a movie recommended by a friend or a teacher who also got nothing to do.


When it comes to food, we can not buy anything at the cantine which is closed every day and night. Therefore, the faculty provides meals sometimes, and when they don’t, I cook by myself. Anything simple will do such as noodles or French Fries. Most of the students have gone back to their hometown, so it’s very quiet at the dorm. It might be hard to stay in and not to go out, but only when it’s necessary I do take the risk to go out to buy some groceries, otherwise, I would have nothing to eat.


Making sure to overcome anything related to the COVID-19, I make sure there’s soap in the kitchen as well to wash my hands, I carry a mask and a hand sanitizer anywhere I need to go, especially outside far from the dorm. To unstress or remove all the worries from my mind, I would go to the 4th floor of the dorm to watch the mesmerizing night view of the city in the evening. To make sure that my relatives who are worried about my safety and health, at ease, I contact them and we face time each other often.


To many people, this might be a terrifying, concerning, and unforgettable moment, but we need to stay strong. I am not scared of the situation, but I do am concerned, because I don’t want anyone to get the decease. So stay protected, strong, safe, and most importantly… healthy.

I am Rain and this is my Survival during the COVID-19 pandemic as an International student in Indonesia.


During the outbreak, millions of people have been affected worldwide and more than 100.000 have died from it whereas in Indonesia only more than 7.000 cases have been reported and more than 600 people have lost their lives. The Surinamese student, Rain, can not go anywhere than staying at the University’s dorm but hopes and prays that this will be over as soon as possible while everyone stays safe and sound, healthy, and strong. This is a task for the final exam for English for Communication in Communication Science at the Faculty of Social Science and Political Science.


For more updates, you may follow me on:

Facebookpage: Rain-Karioredjo Rainer, https://www.facebook.com/rainauthorwr...

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page