top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

Pameran (Batik Exhibition)

Pameran, a Batik Exhibition that was held at Universitas Andalas’ Main Library, Minangkabau Corner, 1-8 November 2022, was an exhibition open for everyone.


On Friday, 04 November 2022, after assisting a lecturer during his Dutch class, he invited his students to visit the Batik Exhibition at the main library at the Minangkabau Corner. As I always had the interest in seeing how batiks are made, it immediately drew my attention to of course visit. After having a nice lunch, the lecturer and I, went to the 3rd floor of Universita’s Andalas’ main library at the Minangkabau Corner.


As I arrived, he introduced me to the designer herself and the organisers for this event. Within 10 minutes after my arrival, the designer was interested in collaborating with me on promoting Batik further, whether small or large. Furthermore, I got a tour around with my lecturer and the designer herself. Afterwards we sat down together talking on how we could support each other.

Then as a friend of mine arrived at the 3rd floor, I suddenly became the one giving him a tour around while recording for everyone to see.


Later on, there was a little workshop on how batik is being stamped on fabric. As an international student, I also had the honour as one of the first guests to try it out. Next, other visitors and students were allowed to try it out as well and to end this event for this day, a group picture was taken with all the students holding their own designs. This was my first time seeing on how batik is made; written by hand and stamped.



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page