top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

One Year Anniversary in Padang, West Sumatra

Updated: Aug 18, 2020

One year anniversary in Padang, West Sumatra, Indonesia

After the horrible and memorable experiences I had to go through during the time I was in Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur, applying and buying a new Visa, I have finally landed safe and sound on Saturday 17th of August 2019, at 8 o’clock in the morning, at the Minang Kabau International Airport in Padang, West Sumatra. I remember this day because it’s a special day for Indonesia, which is their Independence Day. And this is how my new chapter started.


I remember on my first day while heading to the dormitory of the University, seeing the empty view with only mountains and a few houses or buildings, my first expression went like: “WTF is this? Where am I? Such a poor environment.” Until I arrived at the dormitory, I contacted my first Minang friend whose name is Rifki. He came to pick me up at the dorm and he brought me all the way onto the mountains to a place, where they were celebrating Independence Day. During lunchtime, it was my first time sitting on the ground having a meal.

As time passed, I went back to the dorm and met my roommate, Alto from Madagascar. He cleaned the room first and the next day, I cleaned further and unpacked my luggage.

During these times, after applying for a KITAS (legal stay permit), arranging all my documents, I finally received my schedule to go to school. On the 1st semester, I was in the English Department, I studied English Literature. As I entered the class and followed the classes, I noticed that English is at a very low level. As for someone like me who is already good enough in English felt so awkward and uncomfortable being in a class like that. And as time passed, I tried my best to change my major from English Literature to Communication Science and to follow my passion for working in the Media.

During my first semester, I have met amazing International students from different countries. We spent wonderful times together filled with joy and laughter. We participated in the Sawahlunto International Songket Silungkang Carnival (SiSSCA) activity in 2019. Most of us also participated in a walking marathon, but unfortunately, I couldn’t, because I was seriously ill. I had a high fever and I was very weak. Most of the foreigners were worried about me but I let them enjoy their moment without me. But later they took very good care of me.

In November, during the International Cultural Day that was held at the Convention Hall of Andalas Univesity, each country from where the international students come from had their own booth, so did I. I represented my country, Suriname, and I held a presentation on stage in front of a large audience.

At the end of December 2020, I went to Duri which is in Riau, still in Indonesia, to find my lost family that lives in a Surinamese Javanese village named, Kampung Suriname. It was a horrible 14 hours night journey, but when I arrived there, I was welcomed warmly. I stayed there for a week. My uncle surprised me on my last day which I supposed to go back to Padang, by bringing me to Pekanbaru which is one hour until two hours driving. It is a very beautiful city but the weather is very hot.

Then I entered the year 2020, where I successfully changed my major to Communication Science. On my first day at school, while searching for my class, I met this guy who was standing outside by himself. I tried to speak in Indonesian with him asking for guidance where my class is. He looked at me with a smile hesitating whether I am local or not. As I entered the class, it seemed that I was one of the first students in the class. As time passed and as students entered one by one, it turned out that the guy who was standing outside is my classmate whose name is Fathan. At some point, I thought he was Thai, but unfortunately, he’s not. Later when others introduced themselves to me and as I get to know them a bit, I noticed just by observing how unique my classmates are. It was a mixture of laziness, activeness, fashionable, glamorous, passionate, talented, and sometimes even very normal like “Let the day just go by”. Although I don’t spend much time among them or have long conversations, I do can say that they’re very special.

During this semester, I was asked by a professor if I could help students with English skills improvements, and I said yes. So I decided to make my free time useful by helping these students. Then unexpectedly, an outbreak took place in China which is known as the Coronavirus. Then the COVID-19 pandemic came which we had to have online classes. It is a very concerning event that took place not just for one month, but for months. I couldn’t go anywhere freely. But after months as the long holidays started, I took the risk to get out of Padang and I went to Bukittingi for the first time which was an amazing experience. Here I was introduced with a traditional drink, egg tea, which wasn't so bad. When I got back in Padang, I got sick for around 2-3 weeks. Don’t worry, I wasn’t infected. The moment I felt better, I went to a river where there’s a waterfall also. The next day, I went to Batusangkar and stayed one night in Agam which is cold. It was my first time I didn’t shower in the evening nor in the morning, because the water was freezing. This night, it was my 2nd time in Bukittingi, because it’s only 15 minutes to go by motorcycle. A week later I went to Pasaman Barat to visit the first and original Javanese Surinamese village named Tongar, where the first Javanese Surinamese lived. It was such a huge blessing for me to be able to meet two elders around their 80s who came back in 1954. After staying here, I found my real uncle and stayed one night at his place, then one night at my friend’s place. Then I went to Agam again which was a 6 hours ride on a motorcycle. On our way to Agam, we went through Bukittingi which was my 3rd time. The next day we went to a waterfall located on an active volcano. The day after, we went back to Padang.

So I live in Padang and I have been to Sawahlunto, Bukittingi, Agam, Batusangkar, passed Pariaman to get to Pasaman Barat. The places only left to visit on my bucket list are Solok, because I want to visit the tea- and strawberry farms, Pesisir Selatan and Payakumbuh.

Within one year, although I went through difficulties that I didn’t mention much, I feel blessed enough that I could experience a lot. I've gotten sick several times and lost weight; I have met local and international students and spent time with them; I moved from department to another department and got to meet new students and people; I am able to help students; I went through the COVID-19 pandemic; I have visited 4 waterfalls, and I have explored around West Sumatra.

Today 17th of August 2020, is my one year anniversary in Padang, West Sumatra, and also 75 years of Indonesian Independence Day, I hereby wish everyone good health, and may you all be blessed with the lights of the All-Mighty.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page