top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

My Community Service volunteering teaching English at SD 29 Purus (Elementary School 29 Purus).

My Community Service volunteering teaching English at SD 29 Purus (Elementary School 29 Purus).

I usually don't share much of whatever I'm doing or any of my achievements, rather than making short videos or writing blogs as a hobby. But here is something I did during my studies.


Every college student who is about to do their 7th semester, needs to do a 40 days community service at a assigned location/ village. Together with other students from other departments and faculties, they need to work together supporting the community they are now part of.

As for me, I was assigned to do my community service at Purus, Padang. But mine didn't last for 40 days, but approximately 5 months, which was the new community service program I took (MBKM). My group was divided into 2, Membangun Desa (Village Development) and Assisten Mengajar (Teaching Assistant). Since I was part of Village Development, I decided to make documentaries of events happening at Purus. While surveying, I found out the urgent need of someone capable of teaching English at elementary schools since English is a new subject within their curriculum. Therefore, I have decided to use my capabilities and knowledge to support SD 29 Purus Padang (Elementary School 29 Purus Padang), volunteering instead of just focusing on Village Development.

I must admit how everyone: the principle, teachers, staff, students, welcomed me warm-hearted everyday. I was then requested if I could help different classes and I taught classes 4A, 4B, 5 and 6, with a total of approximately 100 students by myself (ALL ALONE). Although I had stressful days, the willingness of the students and self-improvement, motivated me a lot continuing to teach them. But as time has passed, my community service has finally come to an end.



But as of today, I have received a statement letter and certificate from SD 29 Purus, for fulfilling my duties for teaching English at SD 29. On the picture is me with the principle of SD 29 Purus, Mrs. Riri Aziz.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page