top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

My 30th Birthday, Part 2 (I gifted myself)

I gifted myself with 2 always wanting items


Since I had been given a silver necklace by my mother which is the most precious possession I own, I always wanted to have a silver ring. During my Community Service in Purus, Padang, I saw a man wearing a typical ring with a crafted rock on it. He told me that I could find real silver and get it customized for me. To my surprise, silver is a lot cheaper here than it is in Suriname. So as many days have passed and I have saved enough money, I decided to get my own silver ring with a rock on it done before my actual birthday.


Wandering around Pasar Raya right after my Community Service in Purus has finished, I kept on looking for a place where they get it customized. As I found, I had a difficulty making the right choice of ring design and the right rock. After making my final choice, I sat for an hour waiting for the complete design to be finished. After it finished, I wore the ring for the rest of the day staring at it not willing to believe that I finally own a silver ring I always wanted.


This silver ring is a symbol of reminder that I have turned 30 years old and for being grateful to God for letting me reach my 30th year.


Furthermore, last year in 2021, I ordered a complete blank baseball jacket online which was cheap. As it arrived, I kept it in my closet and never wore it for more than a year. The reason I bought this jacket is to create something that would show my identity in name, birthyear and country. Therefore, as I got the chance, I brought my design to a border shop that can do the job further for me. Fortunately, it wasn’t expensive to get everything done (less than $8). Although I waited longer than I expected, the complete work got finished on November the 1st, right after my birthday, which wasn’t bad at all.


This jacket what I would call 'A Work of Art' by me, symbolizes my complete identity by name, signature and birthyear with my country flag on it, which means I was born and raised in Suriname.



33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page