top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

My 30th Birthday Part 1 (with Ricky's Travel)

It has been more than 4 years that I have been living and studying in Indonesia by myself. Born on the 31st of October 1992, whereas this year the 31st of October 2022, would be my 30th birthday which is fast. I still can not believe it that I am 30 years old now. During the time that I have been living in Indonesia, studying in Padang, I have heard of Tongar in West Pasaman and Kampoeng Suriname in Duri which both drew my attention. I took the initiative to visit Kampoeng Suriname on the 31st of December 2019 and to find out if I have any relatives there.

During my stay in Duri for almost a week, I came in contact with a wonderful lady from Suriname whose name is Inke who I now call tante (aunt) Inke. She shared her emotional experience visiting the place which I also felt. Since then we stayed in contact and planned to meet when she would come back. Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, her trip got cancelled. Earlier this year around January 2022 she contacted me again telling me that she would come this year for sure. As I got excited, my uncle who also lives in Suriname contacted me telling me that he would also come with his wife (my aunt).


Finally, as time has passed, both my family and tante Inke came to Indonesia with Ricky’s Tour. They weren’t the only ones, but a whole group of people came along with Ricky’s Travel. Since I was going to reunite with any of my family members after 4 years, I took the bus from Padang to Duri (14 hours) and stayed in Duri my first night. I put aside all of my education activities only to spend a week with everyone from Ricky’s Tour including tante Inke and my family.

Although I was nervous in the beginning, everyone surely made me feel warm, loved and welcomed, and of course I enjoyed every moment of it considering this as the beginning of my 30th birthday, a week before my exact birthday.





Many Thanks to tante Inke & Ricky’s Travel for letting me join the trip

and making this the start of my 30th Birthday.

Also, for a special family reunion after 4 years.

For anyone willing to travel, please do not hesitate to travel with Ricky's Travel which I completely recommend. You'll see a lot, experience a lot, enjoy a lot and of course make lots of memories.


Padang – Duri: 14 hours

Duri – Pekanbaru: Meeting and joining Ricky’s Tour and group

Pekanbaru - Duri (Kampoeng Suriname)

Duri – Pekanbaru

Bukittingi

West Pasaman – Tongar

Padang


Ricky’s Travel

Main Office:

Bedumerweg 25, 9715 AB Groningen – The Netherlands

Telp.: 050-5776964

Telp. Mike: + 31 6-26415941

Telp.: Ricky: + 31 6-20145164


Suriname

Panditmurliweg 67-79 Meerzorg – Commewijne

Telp.: + 597 8608416 / 355154

HJ Tour Travel Waterkant 92-96 Paramaribo

Telp.: +597 425455

Facebook.com/rickytravel / Ricky en Nina

Email: info@rickystravel.nl

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page