top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

Kalisani, the 1st Coffeeshop I ever went

Kalisani Coffeeshop, is one of the first places where I made one of my first memories in Padang, West Sumatra, Indonesia. I can describe this place as a peaceful, calm, relaxing and warm welcoming place for me myself to sit and to do my studies or enjoy the night view, but also a place to spend time with friends. The first time I visited the shop was in 2019 not long after my arrival in Padang. While walking on the second floor of what’s so called ‘Business Center’, the building in front of my dormitory, I suddenly noticed a calm vibe. As I turned to the right, I saw the outstanding red painted walls and a guy standing there making coffee for a costumer. It’s the barista, Firhan. As I walked in and took a look around, he kindly asked me how he could help me and as he noticed that I’m a foreigner, he kindly introduced himself as we started a conversation in English.



As time passed, I went to sit there along with other international students on an evening. While having an enjoyable time together, there were a few people playing the acoustic guitar and singing. The harmony and the beautiful voices together made everyone feel more welcoming and willing to stay.


Located on the hills of Andalas University, Kalisani Coffeeshop is firmed on the second floor of the building called ‘Business Center’ that stands between all the dormitories; a breath-taking view of the city Padang can be seen but especially in the evening when all the lights are turned on like fireflies.


Kalisani Coffeeshop offers coffee and non-coffee-based drinks.

Some of the coffee-based beverages are Americano, Cappuccino and Vietnamese Drip Coffee.

Since I don’t like a strong bitter taste, my favorite is the Coffee Chocolate or the Coffee Milk Original.

And some of the non-coffee-based drinks are Red Mojito, Chocolate and Vanilla Latte, and new on the menu what I love to call and has become one of my favorites, the Strawberry Milk Soda with Ice-cream on the top.


Two things that keep me drawn into this place are the service and the atmosphere. The baristas know how to communicate in English with us foreigners (students) which makes us feel more comfortable and welcoming. But also, the vibe that it has when us foreigners visit the place, especially when we speak in different languages. National and international guests/ visitors/ costumers have their own privacy while visiting the coffeeshop as no one stares at each other which is wonderful.


Kalisani Coffee Shop is an absolute recommendation for anyone who visit’s Padang, likes a calm vibe, wants an escape from the city, and also students studying and employees at Andalas University.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page