top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

Java Trip with Rain and Tante Sandra, Part 5 + 6

Java Trip with Rain and Tante Sandra, Part 5


Continuing our trip, we had to wake up early in the morning again to go to the train station named Station Gambir in Jakarta where we departed to Yogyakarta by train.


The cost per person for the exclusive ride was around Rp.500-600K. The ride itself took around 6 hours from Jakarta to Yogyakarta as we departed at 9:20 am and arrived at 15:40. The seats were comfortable for me and you could lean a bit to the back and sleep, there were clean toilets, surprisingly they sold food which you could order and they would actually bring to your seat, and best of all... two staff members would always walk around with a bag to pick up trash, so the train could stay clean.


Although I couldn't sleep during the ride, I had a window seat and looked out of the window the whole time at the mesmerizing view of Indonesia. Fortunately, I brought my Bluetooth headset to listen to music as well and I had some friends I was chatting with.


The moment we arrived in Yogyakarta, I ordered a taxi online to bring me and tante Sandra to the hotel where we're staying at. At the hotel, we took some rest and meanwhile tante Sandra fell asleep, I walked to the shop by myself to buy a few things I need.

Later that evening, we had dinner in front of our hotel and later on my Suriname friend Haliq who has been studying in Indonesia for almost 6 years, stopped by at the hotel. Finally, he and I met face to face for the first time.


To be continued...



Java Trip with Rain and Tante Sandra, Part 6


After a goodnight rest, tante Sandra went to a hair salon early in the morning around 8 am while I stayed at the hotel waiting for my very first Indonesian friend, I met through Facebook in 2011, to pick me up. Meanwhile, I continued working on my lecturer's assignment and had a zoom meeting with the international office of Unand. Right after the zoom meeting, I got picked up by my friend and went straight to the hotel where a lovely couple originated from Suriname but lives in the Netherlands for years, stayed. We spent time together having lunch while waiting for tante Sandra.


We then walked around Malioboro, stopped at several places, shopped a bit and went back to the hotel.

In the evening we spent time at Legend Coffee where there was a live band. We enjoyed the music and the delicious dinner.


To be continued...

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page