top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

Chosen as Liaison Officer (Prt 1) for the World Class University (WCU) program at Andalas University

Chosen as Liaison Officer (Part 1) for the World Class University (WCU) program

at Andalas University



Have you ever woken up and become something unexpectedly you never applied or imagined for? Well, that happened to me one early morning. I never knew but yes, I was suddenly picked, chosen and assigned as liaison officer for foreign professors and foreign students who were part of the World Class University (WCU) program at my current university, Andalas University in Padang.


After focusing on my proposal for days, weeks and even months, going through all the stress for my research, my proposal finally got accepted on Friday the 5th of May 2023. I was totally relieved and decided to take a break from it all until I received my schedule for my seminar proposal. But no… It happened to be the next day, an early Saturday morning the 6th of May when I woke up, checked my phone and saw that I was in a strange group-chat. After not understanding but then contacting one of the coordinators within the group, it turned out that I was chosen as one of the liaison officers. I kept wondering how this happened or maybe because of the podcast I did before this? I went for a meeting on this day to discuss what it actually is and what my task would be. After being explained, I immediately decided to do it to gain new experience and knowledge.

Our assignments started the day after (Sunday the 7th) picking up some foreign professors and students from the airport and accompanying them to the hotel or dormitory. My assignment started on Monday the 8th of May where one of my LO colleagues and I had to pick up professor Pierangeli Vital from University of Philippines from of course the Philippines, at the Minangkabau International Airport. The next morning, I was assigned to pick up prof. Simone Maynard from Griffith University, Australia, by myself. In total we expected 27 professors and 13 students to arrive from different countries during this one-month project.


For the ones not knowing what a liaison officer’s (LO) job is, here is a brief explanation: A liaison officer also known as go-between agent is an employee who builds and maintains mutually beneficial relationships, facilitates communications and coordinates activities among two or more people, agencies or organizations.


As time has passed by and I was assigned to pick up, drop off, guide and accompany different professors and students, I suddenly read on the arrival list that two professors and 5 students from Prince of Songkla University, Thailand, would arrive on Saturday the 13th of May. I decided to pick them up at the airport and accompany them further, but as we did, they were invited by the faculty to have dinner at a restaurant right after their arrival, before heading to their accommodation. Sitting in a car with the PSU students, I noticed that their English skill isn’t strong, but fortunately, I already experienced similar situation interacting with students from abroad and gained practical knowledge on how to interact and communicate with them. Since the first day we met, all five PSU students (Soolkiflee, Abas, Wildan, Got andSaokee) and I unexpectedly and immediately bonded. They were very pleased to know that I also live in the same dormitory as them and that I am also a foreigner. The next day we went on a city tour for the whole day and had dinner together that evening. The day after (Monday), I had to guide them to their Faculty of Technic Engineering and accompanied them to their classes. I stayed the whole day with them, because I know the difficulty, they have in communicating in English. They only had 2 weeks at Andalas University and there was not even one day that I didn’t spend with them, whether it was in the morning dropping them off at the department or having dinner in the evening. As follows, they even attended my Dutch class I was assisting, experienced the use of public transportation to the city and having a walk around. The day before their departure back to Thailand, they held a presentation regarding to their experience during this WCU program, and they mentioned that without me they wouldn’t be able to survive, which made tears roll down on my cheeks. On this day, we had our last lunch at restaurant Clayton and dinner together at our favourite spot, Ayam Remuk. Early next morning at 5, we met again at the dorm and departed from the dorm to the airport. At the Minangkabau International Airport, it was difficult and emotional to say farewell to each other. I could see their emotions for not willing to leave. They kept looking outside through the glass window as I kept looking at them from outside. Meeting them, bonding with them unexpectedly, was a blessing to me during this World Class University program.


Honestly, I wasn’t pleased at first when I got the role, but then as I accepted it, I enjoyed being a Liaison Officer. Thanks to this, I feel honoured to be chosen as the first foreign LO of and at Andalas University during this first-time World-Class University project. It’s a privilege meeting many wonderful people, professors and students from different countries, while gaining so much knowledge and new experience. It taught me the importance of education and how far you can reach when you continue doing whatever you need to do, because you never know which door will open and of course unexpectedly.



I am Karioredjo Rainër known as Rain by many, and this is me fulfilling my role as liaison officer at Andalas University during the World Class University (WCU) program.


To be continued…..


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page