top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRain- Rainer Karioredjo

A New Start, A New Chapter in my Life

A New Start, A New Chapter in my Life

In 2018, I got accepted for a scholarship which is known as the Darmasiswa scholarship that lets you study Indonesian culture in Indonesia. I studied at ISI Denpasar, in Bali. ISI Denpasar is known as the best art school in Bali. Here I studied the traditional Balinese dance. It was painful at the beginning but a great experience and also an honor to learn something new.

During my studies, I applied for a new scholarship and got accepted to study at Andalas University in Padang, West Sumatra, also in Indonesia.

Here at Andalas University, I get to experience things differently. People, culture, and tradition are different compared to what I first experienced in Bali. Even the local language is different but you get to hear it every day.

Being at this school wasn’t easy in the beginning. I studied English Literature during the first semester, but then changed my subject to Communication Science, because of my passion for working in the media.

Changing my major was a bit challenging, because of the language barrier. Fortunately, there are students and lecturers who are (not all, haha) willing to support me at some point. Even though I moved to another department, I won’t forget my ex-classmates when I was in the English Department. We still have contact and when we see or meet each other, we always say at least ‘hi’ to each other. Here I have become friends with all the foreigners and we have automatically created a family bond. In this picture you can see all the International Students who studied and still are studying at the same University as me.

(Thailand, Vietnam, Japan, Madagascar, Suriname, Cambodia, England, Iran, Egypt, Slovakia, Malaysia, Timor Liste, Germany)

This is it for just now. Just a part of my life here.

I will tell you more when the time comes.

God bless you!

“Every moment tells a story”

Rain


57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page